Residents are being urged to check they are on the electoral register with local elections taking place in May.

A total of 17 of the 49 seats on West Oxfordshire District Council and 115 seats on 17 town and parish councils are up for election on Thursday 3 May. Polling cards are currently being sent to those registered living in the affected wards.

Anyone who has not received their polling card by 5 April should check that they are on the electoral role by emailing elections or calling 01993 861410.

Electoral Registration Officer Keith Butler said, “All too often people turn up at the polling stations to find out they are not able to vote as they are not on the register. Often it is because they have changed address and not realised that they need to re-register. Also, some people think that paying council tax adds them to the electoral register but it does not as this is a separate system.”

The deadline for receiving ‘register to vote’ applications is Tuesday 17 April and this can be done online by visiting or you can call 01993 861000.

The District Council seats up for election are in the following Wards. Anyone living outside of these areas will not receive a poll card as they do not have an election this May:

  • Ascott and Shipton
  • Bampton and Clanfield
  • Brize Norton and Shilton
  • Burford
  • Carterton North East
  • Carterton North West
  • Carterton South
  • Chipping Norton
  • Ducklington
  • Eynsham and Cassington
  • Freeland and Hanborough
  • Standlake, Aston and Stanton Harcourt
  • The Bartons
  • Witney East
  • Witney South
  • Woodstock and Bladon

Date: 29 March 2018

Media enquiries: Communications office: t: 01993 861616 / 861615 m: 07771965360 e:communications

Recipients should be aware that all e-mails and attachments sent and received by West Oxfordshire, Cotswold and/or Forest of Dean District Council may be accessible to others in the Council for business or litigation purposes, and/or disclosed to a third party under the Freedom of Information or Data Protection Acts.